Get Your Home Clean Enough {blog link}

Standard

It’s only Monday, but I’m already feeling behind on my cleaning for the week. I look around each of my rooms, and all I see are piles of miscellaneous papers, folded clothes, clothes baskets, bags ready to go to the thrift store, etc. It’s an overwhelming start to the beginning of the week, but I think part of my problem is that I never felt like I got the house “done” over the weekend, so last week’s clutter is spilling into this week.

photo credit: Amazon

Feeling kinda like this today? [photo: Amazon]

Melissa from TheInspiredRoom has some great speed cleaning tips for days like today when you’d rather just get things “clean enough” so you can enjoy the summer sun. I definitely have a problem staying focused, so I like her idea to set a timer to keep on task. I’ve seen lots of people mention something similar when you’re trying to get your kids to clean up after themselves, but it’s sounding like a pretty good idea for this grown up as well. 😉 Maybe the three of us can make it into a game this morning and then have some real fun afterward. I also try to think through what jobs I need to do, as she mentioned cleaning in a logical order. I know it’s great exercise, but trudging up and down the stairs a million times a day isn’t my idea of a great time!

Melissa also included some helpful clean-as-you-go suggestions to cut down on long days of cleaning, so be sure to check out her post. If you need even more incentive than a clean house and a stress-free summer, she’s also hosting a gift card giveaway in the post, so go drop by!

{endquote}
Cleaning your house while your kids are still growing up is like shoveling the walk before it stops snowing. –Phyllis Diller

Leave a Reply

