Beat the Heat With Agua Fresca {on my plate}

Standard

It’s going to get pretty hot here over the next few days. I mean, just look at this forecast.

Seven days of misery ahead.

Summer just started, right? Just checking.

Anyway, with heat like that, we need to stay cool and hydrated. (And indoors. But I digress.) I found a great summer drink on Pinterest (of course). I’ve made it a couple of times now, and it’s a tasty, cool treat in the morning: Strawberry Watermelon Agua Fresca. I’m not sure I would’ve thought to combine those two seasonal favorites, but they make a nice combo.

Strawberry Watermelon Agua Fresca, a perfect treat to beat the heat.


From Elise’s recipe on the site, here’s what you need to do.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound diced seedless or seeded watermelon (without rind), about 3-4 cups
  • 8 ounces strawberries, stems removed (about a pint)
  • 1 Tbsp lemon or lime juice
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup cold water

Method

Put all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.   If you want, you can strain the purée through a mesh sieve, to strain out any pulpy pieces that didn’t get broken up in the blender.  Adjust the ingredients to taste.

Makes 4 cups.

I used about a quarter of a seedless watermelon, which made about three cups, 16 oz (a pound) of strawberries, lemon juice and 1/4 cup of water. The original poster also mentioned making popsicles from this recipe, which sounded perfect to this mom of two young kids. Much better than the sugar-laden treats at the store, right? So I poured some of the agua fresca into an ice cube tray (I sooo need to invest in some cool little popsicle molds), put Saran Wrap over top and poked some mini craft sticks in. After a few hours of freezing, they turned out pretty cute–and totally tasty!

Strawberry Watermelon Popsicles–just the right size for a small snack

I enjoyed this drink so much, I’d love to find another recipe with different fruit. Or maybe I can figure one out on my own. I’ve also pinned some fruit-and-herb-flavored water recipes (no extra sugar added) that I’m looking forward to creating during this hot, hot summer.

2 responses »

    • Thanks for the comment, Michael! It comes together pretty quickly (if you’ve already got the ingredients, that is :-)).

Leave a Reply

