Bangers ‘n Mash {on my plate}

Standard

It’s downright cold out there, tonight. Which makes complete sense as it’s winter. Everybody was tired after a busy day and we just wanted some good old comfort food. So I decided to make a meal that’s become quite a favorite over the past few months: bangers ‘n mash. This sausage-and-mashed-potatoes meal originates over in the UK, a place which I hope to visit at some point in my life. Really, really soon.

I’m sure my take on it is nothing like the real thing, but it passes muster with all four of us in the house, and I’ll definitely take it! I’ve adapted a couple of recipes that I found (here and here). My version is probably a bit simpler, which is why it’s also probably not really authentic, but I still think it tastes pretty yummy! Here’s my take on Bangers ‘n Mash, if you feel like dishing some up in your own house.

Image

Bangers ‘n Mash
beef sausage
1 medium onion
1 Tbsp oil
3-4 cups chicken or beef stock
2 Tbsp flour
3-4 potatoes, peeled and chopped
milk and butter
1-2 tsp ground mustard OR 2 Tbsp grainy mustard

Cook the peeled and diced potatoes in boiling salted water for 15-20 minutes until fork tender. Meanwhile, prick sausage with fork, heat skillet and brown in oil. Remove sausage to plate, add sliced onion to pan and cook until soft. Add flour and cook for one minute. Add stock, return sausage to pan and simmer until cooked through, 15-20 minutes. Drain potatoes and mash with milk, butter, mustard, salt and pepper.

Serve bangers ‘n mash with peas or other vegetable, and a side of grainy mustard for dipping, if desired. Some nice crusty bread wouldn’t hurt, either.

Leave a Reply

